Something’s cooking..

Well, after a full day’s work I seem to have spent most of the evening in the kitchen, not that it was planned that way. As part of the 60 recipes challenge I decided to cook courgette and feta frappes along with a roast pepper and couscous side dish. It was actually very nice! Then I realised the double cream I had bought needed using up so for the first time in my life I have prepared home-made apple ice cream. It tastes nice before freezing so I hope it is after!

The guitar playing continues too-I’m on lesson 7 and trying to master the rhythm to “Brown eyed girl” and finger picking the G scale and “Michael row the boat ashore. Eric Clapton has nowt to worry about though!

None of these are new challenges but like Russian dolls, challenges within a challenge. The same is true for the calendar-just waiting for it’s arrival now-probably be sometime next week. Just under half are now accounted for so if you haven’t signed up for one now is the time to order yours! For those who didn’t see it on Facebook, here are a couple of (better quality) sample pages.

I cleared out the vegetable patch on Sunday-no, not one of my 60@60 but it did make me think in various ways. The purple sprouting broccoli had grown to a height of about 5 feet then blew over in the gales about 6 weeks ago. It kept growing lots of leaves but no broccoli. It may me think-I am actually fruitful in how I live or do I just bear lots of leaves? Am I actually fulfilling the purpose I am planted here for? Jesus told a story about a vineyard owner who gave the non-producing vines one last year to produce grapes before he ripped the vines out. A sobering thought. Many persecuted Christians are living in very hard contexts (soil) but so many impress me about how they live their lives to make a difference.

Published by adrian60

Turning 60 is a door to a new decade. I want to use these years positively, starting with the next one. So I want it to be a year of trying different things as well as familiar one and to do a couple of challenges. 60 things at 60 with the aim of raising £6 000 for the charity Open Doors, serving persecuted Christians around the world, many who live with very little. Would you be part of the adventure with me?

Leave a comment